Upstairs

my head remembers your hair / the way it tangled with mine / your lips / my lips / the green of your bedspread / door left open / so we could hear if your mom / crept up the stairs / your lips / my lips / my tongue / your lips / your tongue

and my hand remembers your hand / your hand / your hand / your lips / your hand / your hand / your hand / the green album spinning in little circles / little circles / my hand / little circles / little circles / little circles / the record turns faster / faster / little circles / faster / faster / my hand / faster / circles / faster / circles / circles / lips / lips / hands / hips / faster / circles / circles / circles / circles / god / circles / god / faster / eyes / thighs / circles / breathe / god / slower / circles / circles / slower / slower / slower / breathe

I can’t remember a goddamn thing

~~~

Annaka Saari is a 20 year old writer from Jackson, Michigan. Currently, she resides in Ann Arbor, Michigan where she studies English at the University of Michigan. Her work has previously appeared in Ghost City Review and MICRO//MACRO. You can follow her on Twitter at @AnnakaSaari or go to her website at https://annakasaariwrites.wordpress.com.

Leave a comment